Sticks and Stones

It’s winter in Melbourne and Detective Emmett Corban is starting to regret his promotion to head of the Missing Persons Unit, as the routine reports pile up on his desk.

 

So when Natale Gibson goes missing, he’s convinced this is the big case he’s been waiting for – the woman’s husband and parents insist the devoted mother would never abandon her children, and her personal accounts remain untouched.

 

But things aren’t all they seem. The close-knit Italian family is keeping secrets – none bigger than the one Natale has been hiding.

 

Just as the net seems to be tightening, the investigation is turned on its head. The body of a woman is found . . . then another.

 

What had seemed like a standard missing person’s case has turned into a frightening hunt for a serial killer, and time is running out.

 

But to really understand these shocking crimes, Emmett and his team will need to delve back through decades of neglect – back to a squalid inner-city flat, where a young boy is left huddling over his mother’s body . . .

Reviews

“Lisa Gardner meets Harlan Coben in this impressive debut that’s as disturbing as it is twisty. Firkin takes readers into the mind of a killer like no one else!”

CHARLIE DONLEA, BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE GIRL WHO WAS TAKEN

“A crisp police procedural that shows its characters in both darkness and light . . . A suspenseful, assured debut for fans of Sarah Bailey and Chris Hammer.”

BOOKS + PUBLISHING

“Australian crime fiction has just found an exciting new voice.”

MARIE CLAIRE BOOK CLUB

“It’s chockfull of thrills rather than chills.”

SIMON McDONALD

Upcoming Events

June 3 – 6pm
Author Talk Online

June 4 – 7:30pm
Author Talk Online

June 8 – 7pm
Author Talk Online with the Richmond Tweed Regional Library (details to come)

June 9 – 6:30pm
Author Talk with Wangaratta Library (details to come)

June 10 – 7:30pm
Author Talk at Stonnington Library

katherine firkin

Katherine Firkin is a Melbourne journalist, currently with CBS New York.

She has over a decade of experience and has worked across every medium – print, online, television and radio.

Katherine has been writing fiction from a young age, and she studied literature and journalism at university. Her debut novel is inspired by the many criminal trials she has covered.

The Trump administration has granted permission to begin the transition process to Joe Biden. And this ⬇️ is likely to be as close as we will get to Trump conceding defeat. @10NewsFirst https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1331013908971261953

Load More...
Contact